About trimming dwarf sag

Nickguy5467

i trimmed my dwarf sag once but now they just seem to have browing stubble like where i trimmed them and the leaves not healthy looking like before. is that normal? it doesnt sound normal to me, but im a noob.

PeteStevers

Nickguy5467 said:
i trimmed my dwarf sag once but now they just seem to have browing stubble like where i trimmed them and the leaves not healthy looking like before. is that normal? it doesnt sound normal to me, but im a noob.
Are you using any fertilizers?

Chanyi

How did you trim them? I think dwarf sag leaves are fixed, meaning they don't continuously grow.

Nickguy5467

PeteStevers said:
Are you using any fertilizers?
yeah im using the same exact method as before. though i did forgot to mention i moved the plants from their initial location. they didnt seem to get any better after that. but the trimming thing is still the same. browning what not. i use thrive+ and use organic potting soil as a substrate under sand. i use a finnex planted plus light but i dont use the 24 hour gimmick. i dose co2 daily even though it says i dont need to. co2 can only help plants right?(i tried some plants that needed co2 but failed so i just kept with co2 since i had it)

PeteStevers

Not sure. I've never tried dwarf sag before. Hopefully someone can help with this. No it doesn't sound normal to me either. Can't think of anything that would cause a healthy plant to deteriorate just because you trimmed it a bit.

Royan

Don't know why the growth would be stunted but a quick google search revealed that many other people have had the same problem. Given how fast it grows, you could cut the longer more mature leaves at the base and leave the new leaves but that's admittedly very tedious if you have a carpet.

faydout