About to set up my first tank (Questions/Help/etc.)!

TheBaron

Reaction score
G'Day everyone, this is my first post here.

Today I bought a 22 litre tank - pretty much similar to the Jebo styled ones. I guess that translates to roughly about 6 gallons. I am planning on having tropical fish in my tank - I have been recommended to choose from Neon Tetras, Platys, aglae-eating Catfish and I think the other type may have been a Gourami (there were some that were a very light/pale yellow and some that were a very light/pale blue - they had a similar body to a Honey Gourami - not that I am an expert, but just going from pics on the net). The girl also recommended one or two algae-eating snails.

When I was getting all my stuff, the store included two products; one is called "water conditioner" which is basically a bag a fine granulated blue crystals (looks a bit like sugar!) and the other is called "stress coat" which says that it will remove chlorine and chloramines.

On the bag of "water conditioner", it says to add about 5 grams per 10 litres of water, and that a repeat treatment is necessary when water is changed or added (the girl at the store told me to add this stuff to the water separately, prior to putting it in the tank, when doing a change). On the bag, it also says the following: "Water conditioner changes tap water into aquarium water through the addition of essential salts and minerals. Bacteria and fungi inhibitors and incorporated to protect fish. This product is not a chlorine neutraliser. We recommend it be used in conjunction with Water Ager whenever fish are placed in new water and at every water change. May be used in both marine and freshwater tanks."

I would like to know if using these products basically constitutes a "sped up" nitrogren cycle, or should I still be expecting to run a cycle over a few weeks? Likewise, just from what I've described, does everything sound ok or not?

Gunnie

Well Known Member
Reaction score