about fishless cycle, and types of fish for tank Question

Discussion in 'Aquarium Nitrogen Cycle' started by Starshine86, Apr 19, 2010.

1. Starshine86New MemberMember

Hi everyone. I'm still just setting up my 50 litre tank and have a couple more questions.

I started feeding the tank with fish flakes about a week ago to start the fishless cycle. I tested the water in the tank before I started, and figured I should test about once a week until the levels all reach 0. Is this right?

And once the cycle is complete, I need to do a 100% water change, and vacuum up all the food, right? Then I can just start adding fish?

Also, I've never done a tropical tank before, so never dealt with a heater. When I get fish, I plan to change about 20-25% of the water on a weekly basis. But if I get the water straight from the tap, obviously that won't be as warm as the water in the tank. Will that be an issue, or will the fish just adjust?

I'm also still finalising what fish I want, and how many. I'd appreciate a bit of advice. I've got my heart set on a dwarf gourami, although I realise I can only get one.

Given that I've got a 50 litre tank, I thought a dwarf gourami, and then some guppies and platys. Could you suggest how many I could have? Are they schooling fish, and would a need a minimum number of them?

I did also wonder about getting a catfish, as it seems like they'd be good at picking up any food from the gravel. Could you suggest a type that might work in this tank that wouldn't grow more than 2-3 inches? Or would this be a bad idea? And would I need drift wood or something for a catfish? I've just got some plastic plants and an decoration in the shape of a couple of barrels for the fish to swim through and hide in.

Thanks for your help! I'm open to any thoughts or ideas you have for other types of fish too.

2. midthoughtWell Known MemberMember

Hi Starshine, welcome to Fishlore. :)