A very long post about cichlid behavior

Discussion in 'Aquarium Stocking Questions' started by stiglitz, Apr 21, 2012.

1. stiglitz

stiglitz Well Known Member Member

In advance let me apologize for how long this post is going to be.

Hi, i recently bought a 55 gallon tank off of craigslist that came with:

8 inch Midas/Blood Parrot mix
    5 inch Black Convict
    10 inch Jack Dempsey
    5 inch Jack Dempsey
    13 inch Pleco
    10 inch Pleco
    6 inch Chinese Algae Eater
    Canaster Filter
    HOB Filter
    Under Gravel Filter
    Hood/Light
    Heaters
    Automatic Feeder

I've had this tank for about a week, and my water parameters are:

0ppm ammonia
    0ppm nitrite
    10 ppm nitrate
    7.6 pH
    78 degrees Fahrenheit

I know, this tank is VERY overstocked, but he listed all of the things above and was only asking $150 for it, and I couldn't walk away from the offer.

This is my first time owning Cichlids, and right off the bat I can tell that their behavior is a little too aggressive.

First off let's start with the Plecos. There's nothing wrong with them that I can see. Their behavior is normal, and they get along with all of the fish.

The Chinese Algae Eater is normal as well, all of the fish get along with him and he doesn't harass any other fish either. I'm a little worried about him though, because I've read when they mature they can become very territorial and aggressive; the last thing I need is another territorial dispute in my already overcrowded tank. Now, onto the Cichlids.

The 4 Cichlids are in a bit of a territorial dispute. The Midas and Convict are a team against the two JDs. The Midas/Convict's territory is the back left corner of the tank behind a pot decoration, and the JDs' territory is in the center of the tank, inside a large decoration.