A Twenty Gallon Tank Setup

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by Jacob3997, Jul 26, 2015.

1. J

Jacob3997 New Member Member

Hello Fishlore Freaks,

I bought my first twenty gallon fish tank, yesterday, so obviously, I am new to the hobby. It is 20" x 13" x 12".

I have a few questions:

How do I speed up the nitrogen cycle without using products like Dr. Foster and Smith's Colonize?

What are great beginner fish I can add to the aquarium? I have heard fish like fancy guppies, zebra danios and assorted platies are great beginner fish, but what others can I use.

Should I use gravel or sand?

What pet stores can I trust?

Finally, where can I buy the best fish online?

Best,

Jacob

2. DrSahl

DrSahl Valued Member Member

Hi there and welcome to the forum..

I am pretty new here as well and since I am not American, I really can't help you with the pet stores (the ones I trust are in my country)

my advice is that you figure out what you wanna make, is it a little biptop, a community tank or you just want to try out maybe having a fish like a Betta..

When you find out what fish you want, its easier to choose between the substrates and if you need plants and how many etc.

personaly, I like Betta's, but they are not great mixing, but could go with shrimps. Guppies are easy to hold and they are also great to look at if you ask me.

As for the cycle process, you can get other products than those you wrote and there are a few threads here on the forum talking about it.

You could speed it up by adding a few guppies or zebra's 2-3 while you start the tank up.

Hope some of the more exprienced have some more advice :)

3. BornThisWayBettas

BornThisWayBettas Fishlore VIP Member

Welcome to Fish Lore!!! Haha, "Fish Lore Freaks", I love that! :D

I think Tetra Safe Start helps boost the speed of the nitrogen cycle, but I've never used it, so get someone else's advice on it.