A tale of two pH meters

MonteCarlo

Hi guys,

So, I wanted to buy a pH meter. My reasoning is that the two chemical test kits I had did not agree, and it seemed convenient in general. The API kit with indicator liquid/test tube/color card was showing 7.2-7.6. The Tetra 6 in 1 EasyStrips were showing about 6.8. Not a huge difference, but is my water acidic or basic? I'll also add that I'm a chemist by training and have plenty of experience with high end pH meters.
Unfortunately, pro grade meters start at about $500 and the electrodes need to remain submersed in DI water or KCl solution, which is a pain.

First up was a relatively inexpensive meter from Amazon:

Sunzeal Meter Link

~$14. What a piece of junk. Even the plastic felt cheap, and the injection molding was poorly done with flash hanging off the sides. It felt like a dollar store flashlight. This meter comes with 3 buffer solutions for checking and calibration. The electronics is smart enough to detect which solution you are trying to calibrate with and do the appropriate math. However, like I said, its a piece of junk. Prior to calibration, I put it in water straight out of the tap and it read pH ~4.5. Not good. I tried to calibrate it with the first buffer solution, pH 6.86 nominal. The meter was so inaccurate, it thought I was putting it in the pH 4.01 solution and further warped the calibration to the point that it was reading a pH of ~ 3 in pure tap water. Needless to say, it went back to Amazon.

For the second meter, I realized that $15 just wasn't going to cut it. I selected this model instead:

Apera Instruments Meter Link