A Oscar and a Jack Dempsey in a 75 Gallon?

XFY

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
HI everyone. In the future I am planning to get a Oscar because I have always loved their personalities and how they look in general. Would a Oscar and a Jack Dempsey do well in a 75 Gallon aquarium? Or is it too small, I have seen other discussions talking about the topic but couldn't really find the answer that I was looking for. I have been browsing the internet on things that I would need for a 75 Gallon tank to buy, and it is not cheap so I don't want something to fail. Sorry if I am doing something wrong I am new to fish lore. Would love to hear the opinions thank you.

david1978

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
One or the other not both in 75. Sorry. I had an Oscar in a 75 and he was determined to be the only fish. He even killed a foot long common pleco so I don't even want to think of the blood bath with 2 aggressive fish.

OP
XFY

XFY

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
david1978 said:
One or the other not both in 75. Sorry. I had an Oscar in a 75 and he was determined to be the only fish. He even killed a foot long common pleco so I don't even want to think of the blood bath with 2 aggressive fish.
Wow ok thank you for letting me know.

johnbetta

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
u could do the jack but not the Oscar you need a large tank for an Oscar due to there big size 30 to 40 cm when fully grown so a 75 gal tank is to small

SnookusFish

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years

Kinda depends on the fish. These 2 are fine together.
Ive seend future vids and there was never a problem

Littlebudda

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
I have my 2 oscars in with BP and they are chill but it really is a space thing they have 300gal to swim. I thought about a JD but decided it might be too much aggression even in a 300

TWiG87

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years