A new tank for a newbie.

1. I

Ichthyologistinmaking Valued Member Member

Hello everyone, I'm rather new to this forum, I have already made a couple of posts, while I do know a great deal about fish, and other marine and aquatic organisms, excluding plants and algae, I have very little experience as an aquarist. I have a 10 gallon aquarium, with a layer of gravel just enough to cover the glass, currently I am lacking a heater, but I have an air stone, and filter, and lights. I would like to get plants and fish, but I'm not positive what species to get. I am looking at anubias, and Java fern, though I much prefer eel grass and I also adore lily pads. As far as fish, I am looking for colorful, and relatively peaceful fish, so, what species would be good choices, or should I just hand over the very small amount of funds I have remaining for a heater or request it for my very up and coming birthday (because I can, and people never know what to actually get for me). So, I greatly appreciate recommendations on plants, fish, and invertebrates, as well as if their cold water, I have done research, but I don't know the best about each species behavior and compatiblity, and so I turn to the forums, to people who honestly know. Serious answers only please.

2. SabrinaBrook

SabrinaBrook Well Known Member Member

Hi Ich,
    Welcome! If i were you i would go with getting a heater for your birthday and buy some non aggressive tropical fish like Guppies, or perhaps Mollies but they can be a bit nippy. I have a community tropical tank with 1 male dwarf gourami, 5 neon tetras, 4 baby mollies and 2 cory catfish. They all get along just fine and i have never had a issue with them. I also have a tank with guppies in with rosy barbs and white clouds, the rosy barbs are a bit nippy but the guppy and white clouds are very placid fish. Hope this helps a little :)

3. OP
    OP
    I