a new fish died,Water change?

MyMy

Reaction score
Hi All,
I'm new to all of this so please bear with me. I was given a small (8.3 UK galls) aquarium about 2 months ago,I was very excited as Ive wanted to set up an aquarium for a while.
I recently moved home and the people that moved out left me the fish,so they have not moved themselves,I believe they have been here for about 3 yrs and there were a few more of them that have died over the years.
I have 4 glolights,1 unknown tetra,now 3 neon tetra and 2 catfish also unknown type,they are about 2 inches long,dark brown with light brown markings). Not doing too well am I?
I introduced 4 neon tetras 2 days ago and found 1 dead this morning, I have removed it but Im unsure about doing a water change, I know that dead fish can affect the ammonia level although I only did a water change 2 days ago at the same time I put in the new fish. Any suggestions? Also any ideas about the catfish type? or is too hard to find out without looking at them?

Many Thanks
My

skippi

Valued Member
Reaction score
Hi MYMY, welcome to fishlore. You will get lots of awesome help on this site. I am not one of the experts so wait for the others to respond. They will want to know info like water perameters. Do you have a test kit for the water. Ammonia, nitrate, nitrite... they will want to know that. Also tell them the now total amount of fish that are in your tank and sizes of them. over stocking is not good and can cause stress to your fish. water changes are good also, and I don't think you can over do those. If you can post a pic of your fish someone on here could tell you what it is. There is also a website... www.catfish.com and they have pics that you can look through. Hang in there we all will try to get you through this..

Good Luck
Heidi

MyMy

Reaction score
Hi Heidi,