A good fish for a cycling tank

waltmillham

Reaction score
I'm still learning & have a lot to learn, but it wasn't long ago at all that I had no clue about the importance of water chemistry or that new tanks need to cycle & how long that can take. I know Zebra Danios are considered to be fish that can make it through the cycle & survive, but my first aquarium was a Mini Bows 5 gallon & it had a Betta in there right from the get go. The first time I tested the water, it was nasty! Everything was high........especially nitrite & nitrate & the Betta was just fine. That fish could probably live in a septic tank. The Betta is stilll in there & doing just fine. Ofcourse, even that tank has good water now, but it sure didn't before....So correct me if I'm wrong, but I would suggest a Betta for a cycling tank.

Neville

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
i think people prefer zebra danios because u can keep several of them in a tank but u can keep only one betta in a tank or else they will fight to death. think about a huge tank 75, 150 or 300 gallon....i think one betta is not enough to cycle these tanks.

sbrown64

Reaction score
I remember from my first tank that i purchased 5 glowlight tetras the day after filling up the tank with water. THey thrived and are still very happy in my tank 6 months later. When i setup a 2nd tank i used a pair of convict cichlids, the levels wereso high but these fish are real little beasties and as tough as nails.

Regards

Stephen

JMatt1983

Valued Member
Reaction score