Help A beginner with three tanks(3.3gal, 20gal, & 9gal)

bluejackalope

Reaction score
Hello everyone! First off, this is my first time posting here, so I figure a quick introduction is in order. I go by Jack for simplicity's sake, but please don't call me a mister. Imma girl, I swear! D8
I'm a theatre major and I've just completed my first year of college. During my last semester, my roommate convinced about six people to go on a betta spree, and soon there were little bettas and betta problems everywhere. I ended up eventually joining the bandwagon--after an incident with goldfish--and purchased a 3.3 gallon tank.

It has an underground filter and a bubbler, and is in a cylinder shape. Currently, it is home to my King Betta, Hades, who is quite happy in it.
After bringing Hades home, he acquired a plant and two run-of-the-mill snails as companions, and aside from being medicated for fin-rot, is doing very well. But being home brought me in contact with my two other tanks that have been sitting empty and unloved for nearly a year in my room.

One is a 9 gallon biube that was abandoned due to lack of knowledge and...quite frankly...I was too interested in other things to care at the time. The other is a lovely 20 gallon that was home to a boat-load of swordtails who now live with my chinese suckerfish--fondly called TheNinjaBuddaFish due to his ability to disappear into nothing and his incredible pot-belly--and my mother's catfish and plecostomas in a 30gal tank(we plan to move them into a 50 gal soon).

I've since cleaned both tanks up and gotten them set up again. The biube is now the home of a double-tail-half-moon betta(who doesn't have a name yet), but I'm not sure if I want it to be his permanent home. So here're my problems.