75 Gallon Tank 75g Planted Tank Filtration Advice

darrylzuk

I'm planning a new 75g planted tank and I'm trying to figure out my filtration needs. I want to keep a mix of South American fish, including a group of angel fish, so I'm trying to balance adequate filtration with an appropriate amount of flow that would irritate or overwhelm the angels. My current display tank is a 29g planted tank with an Aquaclear 70 and a Marineland Penguin Pro 175. It's pretty heavily stocked (AqAdvisor suggests I'm at ~127%), but I have zero issues with ammonia or nitrites, and because it's so heavily planted I never get any nitrates levels either.

I want to aim for the same balance in this new 75, but I have some ideas for growing some plants out of the tank at the top hanging from the rim either in the water (pothos, peace lily, monstera) or on the back (orchids, ferns), so I was leaning towards using canisters instead of HOBs. I'm new to aquarium canisters, but I've had a koi + goldfish pond for 20+ years so the concept isn't completely foreign.

I really like the Fluval x07 line of filters (they're 20% off right now at Petco), and was think I could run a pair of them. Question being, what size/model would I need? I think the limiting factor is providing enough mechanical filtration, as one on its own plus all the plants, substrate, driftwood and glass will provide more than enough surface area for biological filtration.

Would two 207s suffice? Two 307s? One 207 and one 307? Keep it mind I don't want to be blowing the angels all over the tank. Would adding a powerhead like the SICCE Voyager Nano 1000 or Fluval Sea CP1 get me the flow I need, allowing me to use the less powerful canisters, or would it just add extra (probably superfluous) current? Thanks in advance for all the help and advice!

Thunder_o_b