75 Gallon is cycling, excited to be a part of Fishlore and REALLY excited for fish!

MissyRay
HI All,

I'm still a newbie to the forum so I'm looking forward to hearing from as many people as possible. And I would love input, ideas, anything really!

Here's a few pics of the tank coming along. Just started the fishless cycle a few days ago.

Little snags right off the bat as expected I guess but....

The second filter I got didn't fit (AC110 as the primary), AC70. Too dang small and didn't slip down over the rI'm of the tank. Being the tank is brand new I was unwilling to clip the plastic and figured another 110 was probably a good idea anyway.

Snafu #2, duh, I read the conditioner directions of 2 drops per gallon but when I went to do it I divided the tank amount by 2 so I only put 34 or so drops in. Holy cow, it was late and I was tired. Corrected that the next day and the tank cleared dramatically.

No use in reporting Ammonia, NitrItes, or NitrAtes since that is just starting.

Of note and possible concern is my water parameters. We have a whole house water softener.... I know. Not very good. Ph seems to be about 8.2, GH between 0 and 30 on the stupid strips and KH like 240..... Consistent with softened water. I can apparently bypass the system but our water is so horrible, it will be the hardest water ever and totally inconsistent. Literally clear to brown to yellow, constantly changing. That said, unless someone has a better plan, I think I am going to go with the softened water and do my best with it.

What am I going to stock? Well, I think a large school of cories and parrot cichlid for the main fish. No other occupants.

Alternatively, I actually have a 180 gal that will be in the works soon and want to do an angelfish tank so I was thinking of starting the 75 with young angelfish to grow out while the other gets underway (later in the summer), transfer them over to the 180 and then go with the original planned stock for the 75.