7 G Tank

Parvath

Reaction score
I am a newbie and just started with a 7 gallon fish tank and have a Dalmatian Molly, couple of Zebra Danio and a Red Fire Guppy.

fish_r_friend

Well Known Member
Reaction score
very nice ;D

EmpPleco

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Your tank is so adorable lol

If I may offer advice?

Your tank could use a little more danios and mollies. They like schools better. But watch out as to not overstock

EmpPleco

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Actually I change that: Danios definately love to school, but I think Mollies are good in a 2 or 3 to 1 female to male ratio Sorry mixed my advice,lol

rob2uk

Valued Member
Reaction score
The only problem with a mixed sex mollie situation is what to do with the fry when they breed...

And they WILL breed...

EmpPleco

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Very true -- I shouldn't really have said anything about themollies, because I know that that is the typical ratio but I am not really sure of the happiness if kept solo.

However, what I say about the danios still stands..

rob2uk

Valued Member
Reaction score
I have 3 female mollies in my 30 gallon. they're the only livebearers in there, and they're happy enough

RoboDude

Valued Member
Reaction score
That's a nice tank! ;D I LIKE IT!

newbie101

Well Known Member
Reaction score
cool tank!

beckers4oranges

Valued Member
Reaction score
also keep in mind that mollies like a little salt in there water...hence they are brackish fish

atmmachine816

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
yes they like salt you can aslo make them saltwater fish if you add a little bit of salt every so often until its at a saltwater level and if you dont have a lot of hiding places and a small tank like you do you shoudnt have to worry about fry as the parents will eat them right i know tahts true with guppies isnt it true with all livebearers or am i mistaken

beckers4oranges

Valued Member
Reaction score
yes mollies will eat their young too

RoboDude