65g angelfish tank journal

FishionistaB

Reaction score
I’m excited to be here. I have some experience with basic tanks in the past; betas, guppies, mollies, etc in 40gal or smaller. Nothing this big or beautiful until now. Most recently I deactivated my Facebook account and decided to go all out with a brand new 65gallon deep set up, this being my main source of social media and my new online persona. Follow the journey on Pinterest at .

Two Sunday’s ago we filled the tank with eco complete and fluval stratum for our substrate and filled the tank with water. We attached an Eheim 2213 and shortly after another Eheim 2217 with a Hydor in-line heater. Fluval LED 36” plant light with Bluetooth capabilities was installed. Several days after we added some different types of Cory catfish. We are currently waiting for our 7# manzanita driftwood to sink. We’ve added a few species of Anubis, crypto, and some java moss. Another shipment of plants is coming Friday to add to the tank. We are beyond excited!!

So far cycling is going ok. There are some trace levels of ammonia and nitrites which is not ideal for the fish but overall the starters seem very happy and we also already have some Nitrates. Tank flow is very high and water is very clear. Plan on continuing to check levels every day or so, minimal feeding, and not adding any more fish until cycling is complete. I’m planning on doing a water change as soon as the python aquarium cleaning system comes in. I’ve been using seachem prime every other day to bind the ammonia and nitrites into non-toxic compounds to get us through the cycle.

I’m excited to meet you all and discuss our tanks. Open to any and all advice along the way! Thanks for following along everyone :)

Attachments

faydout

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years