6 gallon NanoCube or 8 gallon Nanocube.

Status
Not open for further replies.

12oz

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Which would be better for fresh water 6g JBJ Nanocube or the 8 gallon Oceanic Biocube?

My friend has an oceanic 29 gallon for his saltwater fish. I love the look of it and stuff. I am kinda new to fish keeping but remember my basics. Which one is more of a quality fish tank. And I was looking at skimmers and mini uv steralizer what are they and do i need them?

Last edited:

Aquarist

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Hello 12oz and Welcome to Fish Lore!

When it comes to aquariums I think larger is better (when it comes to housing most fish). I'm not familiar with the tank types that you have listed so I can't say for certain that one is better than the other.

If you're planning on setting up the tank for fresh water fish then the skimmers and uv sterilizer isn't necessary.

I see that you are aware of the nitrogen cycle so that is good.

A test kit is necessary. The API (liquid) Master Test Kit is most widely recommended on this site. It will test for everything mentioned in then nitrogen cycle. Please avoid paper test strips as they can be inaccurate and difficult to read.

Best of luck and please keep us posted. I'm sure you'll get more responses before too long.

Ken

BritJo

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
w/ a 6 gallon and 8 gallon you are really limiting yourself as to what you can put in there, most beginner tropical fish would like a 10 gallon at least. Is that possible? Also the bigger the tank the fewer water problems you will have, a small tank requires more upkeep to keep the water parameters good (I know this one from experience lol).

Craig-D

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years