5g Cube (beginner)

Fahn

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Lately I've been getting the itch to start a saltwater tank. I have several years of experience with freshwater and have been involved in saltwater maintenance and care with my company for about a year. I am cramped for space, but have plenty of experience with nano tanks under 10 gallons. I was wondering what kind of setup I could do in, say, a 5 gallon cube? I understand this is probably too small for most fish so I would like to limit it to reef-safe inverts and easy corals such as mushrooms. Any advice on what I would need would be greatly appreciated!

Floundering_Around

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
I would say you could run the whole system with just a powerhead, live rock, and your light. Substrate is optional but I personally live the way it looks. You throw on a HOB filter to hold some extra media (bio balls, phosphate remover, etc.). No skimmer is necessary as long as you do water changes, which will be crucial in such a small tank.

As for livestock, stay away from pulsing xenia, green star polyp, leather corals, and mushrooms unless you want your tank overrun by them/doing constant maintenance to trim them back. Palys and zoas are easy going corals that are great for beginners. LPS like acans and Duncans are good options as well.

Reef hermits and cleaner shrimp are fun to watch and will make sure that your tank doesn't have too many organics that can increase your nitrogen. Plus they're fun to watch

Fahn

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Floundering_Around said:
I would say you could run the whole system with just a powerhead, live rock, and your light. Substrate is optional but i personally live the way it looks. You throw on a HOB filter to hold some extra media (bioballs, phosphate remover, etc.). No skimmer is necessary a long as you do water changes, which will be crucial in such a small tank