55 Gallon Tank 55g planted lighting choice/help

Trenzalore

I've had a 5.5g tank for a couple years and done great, but I've upgraded to a 55g and feel like a complete beginner when it comes to shopping for tank lighting. I have a budget of about $80 for lighting for my new Aqueon 55g freshwater aquarium. It needs to either be some sort of hood with built in lights that are replaceable when they get old (cost effective), or one of those glass flat lids with a light strip I can just set on top - I need it to be able to reduce water loss, but also have holes for my heater, canister filter tubing, bubbler, possibly C02 in the future, etc.
I've looked everywhere, but it looks like what's within my budget is either this hood for $43 or a combination of this glass top with a light I can just set on top like this one, which still isn't saving any money at all. (Could be either one, the other, or one of each since the tank is divided at the top). I'm at a loss to whether I should just suck up and pay or if there's something a little cheaper out there that I can afford to get the job done.
Other questions!! If I get the hood I mentioned, can I/should I swap out the light bulbs to something stronger so I can have medium/high light requiring plants? And, can I use reptile lights for an aquarium (what kind, should I use the glass top and set the light on top of that, ???)? I have a turtle basking strip hood with a 15w tube light in it that still works, thought about swapping out for a stronger bulb but I can't find the og box and the tags on the cord don't have any helpful information.
Any recommendations for cheaper lights and hoods would be much appreciated!!!

Trenzalore

Additional questioning added here - can I use a t5 light fixture like this or a t8 like this with a flat glass topper? The reviews say it is low heat and that it's been good to their reptiles and indoor plants of all kinds..

Upvote 0

LeviS

Did you ever get an answer about your light question?

Upvote 0