55 gallon stocking options

Kuebeecee

I recently set up a 55 gallon and it’s currently going through its cycling process. In the mean time, I’m trying to get ideas on how to stock it.

I’m open to anything, but am leaning towards something colorful, as my tank setup is rather colorless.

Please share your ideas! (Keep in mind I’m pretty new to the hobby. ☺️)

RogueFebreze

That depends, do you want a fish with big personality or would you rather have some colorful schooling fish? also is it a planted tank or no?

MoshJosh

wanting community, species only, breeding pair or group, odd balls???

Fish I like that you could look into (some might be difficult to find unless you are willing to order online)

zebra acara, red shoulder severum, discus (research before you buy, $$$), angels (altum if you can find them, blue zebra, koi, dolphin point etc.), tiger motos, green terror, red terror. . .the list goes on

Some of the fish I mentioned can go in communities some cannot.

otterblue

If you go with a community tank you could get a large school of emerald tetras - I really like them.
Neon green rasboras are really cool too & would look good in a large school. You just couldn't get any large fish that would eat them.

Noroomforshoe

Platies come in every color and color pattern of the rainbow and are among the most colorful freshwater, fish. get 3 females per male or all of one sex. They are not schooling fish, but a group of at least three is preferred to a single specimen.

Danios, - super cheap, super hardy but beautiful fish, the natural ones have stunning colors. Leopard danios and zebras are stunning overlooked littly fish. Giant danios are also beautiful, and you have room for them.
Glofish danios, that have neon color, and glow in a black light or neat looking and they are not cruelly dead or injected, if they where I would not recommend them.