50% Stocked? 55 Gallon Tank

1. Azulix Initiate Member

Hey guys,

I have a 55 gallon aquarium that has been established for 4 months now and I was wondering if I could get some stocking advice. I currently have a few fish and I was wondering what else I could add.

5 - Guppies
    2- Dwarf Honey Gourami
    2- Pearl Gourami
    7- Sterbai Cory Cats
    6 - Siamese Algea Eaters
    4 - Red Wag Platys
    8 - Red wag play fry (3/4 weeks old?)
    4 - Mollys

So in total I have 38 fish and I would either add more Cory Cats and Guppies or I would like a school of Rummy Nose Tetras. Any advice? Or should I keep the stock where it is at?
  2. CanadianJoeh Well Known Member Member

I'm no stocking expert but it seems like you could keep it where it is.

I would ask @TexasDomer

3. Mary765 Well Known Member Member

You have some stocking issues if you would like to discuss them... :)

I'm afraid he cannot. It's just not safe for the fish.
  4. CanadianJoeh Well Known Member Member

What website/page do you use to calculate this? (The screenshot you sent)
  5. Mary765 Well Known Member Member

Aqua advisor. It's the most accurate, reliable and reputable aquarium stocking calculator on the internet (and used by most of us here on fishlore)

6. Azulix Initiate Member

I guess I will down size on some of the fish then. My Gour
    Thanks for the advice! I tried out the website and it seems kind odd. When I add 7 Sterbai Cory Cats and 6 Siamese Algea Eaters it says my stocking level is at 92%. That seems kinda absurd for 13 fish doesn't it?
  7. Five 97 Well Known Member Member