50 G Aquarium Cycle Help!!

TheFishFella

Hey there!! I’m currently setting up a 53 G tank and I’ve been trying to cycle it for the past 8 days. I put 10 ml of Dr Tims ammonia in the tank 8 days ago, and haven’t seen any change yet. I’ve also been using the recommended dosage for Stability as well every day. I still have yet to see any sort of nitrites in my tank, am I doing something wrong? This is my first time cycling a tank (and a large tank too), and I was wondering if anyone could help me out!! I’ve attached my recordings as well!

Attachments

• B5A897F7-B3A2-452B-A04C-AB11CC51E6CB.jpeg
    B5A897F7-B3A2-452B-A04C-AB11CC51E6CB.jpeg
    208.4 KB · Views: 10

StarGirl

You won't see nitrites for roughly 3 weeks. It takes about a month to cycle give or take.

sattelmauser

Personally I would use more than the recommended amount of Stability. When i cycled my 40g with Dr T ammonia, i used a whole bottle at once. Really got the cycle started in a couple of days. But that was just my experience. To be honest as well, i have a large filter for the tank with a ton of bio media in it.

Azedenkae

Hey there!! I’m currently setting up a 53 G tank and I’ve been trying to cycle it for the past 8 days. I put 10 ml of Dr Tims ammonia in the tank 8 days ago, and haven’t seen any change yet. I’ve also been using the recommended dosage for Stability as well every day. I still have yet to see any sort of nitrites in my tank, am I doing something wrong? This is my first time cycling a tank (and a large tank too), and I was wondering if anyone could help me out!! I’ve attached my recordings as well!
Two possibilities.

Stability is working, but super slowly, and nitrite oxidation is occurring at a rate fast enough for any nitrite produced from ammonia oxidation is immediately oxidized to nitrate. Test your nitrate and see what it says. Though plants and/or algae may confound this reading.