44g South East Asian Build

Willow5

Hello! I’m building a low tech South East Asia ecosystem in my new UNS 90p 44g tank. I’ve chosen all native plants, driftwood, fish, and substrate to replicate a slow moving stream. Currently my tank is going through a fish-less plant-less water cycle with Brightwell Aquatics bacteria additives while I finalize my plant and fish selections. This is my first build over 26g so I’d really appreciate another eye or two to make sure I’m not overlooking anything or my big worry, overstocking on either fish or plants.

Substrate from CaribSea: Eco-Complete, red - Super Naturals Sri Lanka (for a smoother top layer) - Super Naturals Torpedo sand - Malaysian Driftwood

Plants: total of 33 to start (is that crazy?)
Background: 9 Hygrophila (compact, siamensis, corymbosa), 3 Cryptocoryne (balansea), 3 Rotala (roundifolia red)
Midground: 1 Nymphaea Stella, 9 Crypocoryne (petchii, mioya, wendtii brown), 6 Microsorum Pteropus (typical and trident mini)
Foreground: Cryptocoryne (parva)
Floating: Hygrophila (difformis)

Fish: 9 Kholi Loaches, 9 Longfin Danios, 3 Pearl Gourami (1 male 2 female), 7 Harlequin Rasbora, 3 Rabbit Snails
(I was going to do a betta sorority build with shrimp but since both are known jumpers, I didn't want the added risk with a top-less tank)

Tank Specs: 36 x 18 x 18 with oase biomaster thermo 350 and Hygger Advanced 24/7 for lighting 26W (I'm worried this is too low lighting for a heavily planted low tech tank)?

Other Additives: Thrive C fertilizer (has some co2) - Seachem Matrix filter media - Seachem Equilibrium (my water is from a soft water tank and has 0 GH)

Water Specs: PH: 7.6 KH: 10dKh GH: hoping for 4-6dKh

I appreciate any suggestions (particularly regarding the number of plants) or encouragement if you like what you see!

Attachments

• IMG_E1693.JPG
    IMG_E1693.JPG
    172.7 KB · Views: 23

wrs2

I love Asian fish, so I bet this will be great!