40 Gal Long Community Stocking Ideas?

Galaxyfish

Reaction score
Experience
1 year
Hi! I'm still a beginner, graduating from my 10 gal starter kit to a 40 gal long. I've finally cycled the new tank, and I'm looking for ideas for my community stock.
I know for sure I want neon tetras (7 or 9?) and Harlequin Rasboras (also 7 or 9?). I have been considering an angelfish, but worry if the tank is big/tall enough.
Anyway, that is all I've got planned. I can't decide what else! I'd love some ideas!

J J Carter

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
Personally, I'd wait a few months before neon tetras, they aren't that robust for a new tank. I'd go with zebra danios for surface level fish & black neon tetras for the middle - in my experience both are hard to kill fish. Ruby tetras stay tiny and close to the bottom.

Angels like a warmer water than other fish, what about 3-spot gouramis as your feature fish?

watermelon46

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
I agree with Watehobit above; all those sound like good options, so pick some that you think sound interesting and do some research on them. The only thing I'm concerned about in your tank is having a way to keep your tank clean... what clean up crews are for! I think you should design a clean up crew - people mostly use shrimp, crabs, and snails, some of which are quite interesting and rewarding to have - but I often like to include fish as part of my clean up crew (CUC) including cories, plecos, and catfish. Asian stone catfish are cool little catfish that don't come out much but are very small and can fit in tiny tanks, bristlenose plecos are nice too, and my favorite cories and panda and julii. Other fish to check out are sparkling gouramis, rams, other rasboras, and endler's livebearers; I'm not sure about compatibility, though. Good luck on whatever you decide!

Galaxyfish

Reaction score
Experience
1 year
Thanks for these ideas!
Here is what I'm thinking, at this point...
7-9 Neon Tetras