40 Breeder Plant Only Grow Out

mrjohn

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Snagging the intro from my other related thread!

Warning! Super long intro!

I've spent a lot of money on plants these past few months, and I've decided to invest in a grow out tank. I would like it to be for profit too. Now I know that there is a lot of competition. Local shops, Petco, PetSmart, online retailers and small shops, etc.

But! Here's my issue and why I think it may work. Most every lfs in my area is between 1-2 hours away. Those are long round trips for plants. Shipping can get expensive when ordering from larger retailers, and in most cases the plants are grown emersed. Most of the plants that I've seen in the lfs don't look too great either.

So why not start a grow out tank with fully immersed plants? Local pickup, local shipping, national shipping, and hopefully a superior quality.

I still have some reservations because I'm pretty new to planted tanks but it is something that I enjoy doing and I'm willing to put the effort in. I know that I won't be successful right off the bat, but it's a good way to learn quickly.

If it all comes crumbling down I will at least have a 40 breeder and some awesome equipment to start another fish tank!

I got my hands on a c02 setup, a Fluval 3.0 light, a Fluval 306 canister filter, and a 100 watt heater. There was a lot more to the package but its been listed elsewhere! The Fluval 3.0 is the 24" model so I'll use it to start but the plan is to move that to my 20 and grab the 36"- 48" model for this tank. I want the light to spread evenly and not focused on the center of the tank. I am saving the canister filter for a larger tank and for a much later date. I grabbed a powerhead for water movement. Because of that decision I had to purchase a new difusser and c02 proof tubing. The entire setup was built to work with the canister filter and I think that it is a bit overkill for a plant only tank.