37 Gallon Stocking

1. fighter55 Member Member

Hi Everyone! I'm a bit new to fishlore, so I'm just getting the hang of things. I've had a 26 gallon fish-only tank for about a year now, so I think I'm ready to upgrade. My LFS has a 37 gallon tank on hold for me, and it's dimensions are: 30"W x 12"D x 22"H. I've looked at some fish, and some candidates for the tank are: 1-2 Elecrtric Yellow Cichlids, 1 Red-Tailed Shark, 2 Honey-Sunset Gourami's, 5 Panda Cory's, 4 Albino Cory's, and 8 Cherry Barbs. I don't expect all of these fish to be in the tank, as some fish(like probably the gourami and cichlids) are meant to be chosen, one or the other.

2. Kent799 Initiate Member

I'd say the 37 gal. tank is too small for two Electric Yellow Cichlid since they get up to 5". Just my opinion. I'd go with the Gourami's instead. They're really pretty and mine have all been very active. I've had a Red-Tailed Shark in with 3 Dwarf Gouramis and he was pretty aggressive towards them. That's all I can offer. I hope you get some more opinions.

3. e_watson09 Well Known Member Member

I wouldn't do the cichlids in this size tank. The corys I would pick one kind and get more of them, I would lean towards the pandas as they don't get as big as the albinos. I would do like 10 of them. Then I'd bump the cherrys up to 10.

So I would do a stocking list with something like this....
    -2 Honey DGs
    -10 Panda Cory cats
    -10 Cherry barbs
    -1 BN pleco
    -10 Hatchet Fish
    -2-3 Platy for a little pop of color.

Added the last ones just to give some other suggestions.

4. QQQUUUUAADDD Well Known Member Member

I don't think RTS are a good coice for 37 gallon tank. They grow big and are VERY aggresive.

Maybe you could do this

-8 rummynose tetras
    -1 male pearl gourami, 2 female pearl gouramis
    -6 bottom dwellers(cories, kuhlis)

5. fighter55 Member Member

Just wondering: would gouramis pick on kuhli loaches? Instead of a BN Pleco, would 2 African Dwarf Frogs work?