35G, added dwarf cichlids, aggression within each species

1. Gowalkitoff Initiate Member

I'm assuming I should be shook for the choices I made today.

35g, 36" long. Planted, lots of caves, young blue gourami and young bn pleco.

Today I added two Bolivian rams (unsure of sex but they look identical), two kribensis (male and female), and one young red tail shark.

Everyone's fine except the rams and kribs.

Rams are nipping back and forth, a bit one sided. Kribs male is chasing and nipping female.

What is happening. What am I ring back to the store tomorrow to exchange for more of a other?

I love the kribs :(

2. Gowalkitoff Initiate Member

Rams and kribs bothering themselves buy not each other

I have a 35g 36" long with a blue gourami, bn pleco.

Today I added a red tail shark, two rams (not sure, two males?), and two kribensis (m and f).

Krib male is picking on female. Rams picking on each other. Everyone else seems fine.

I'm new to cichlids. What's going on? Bottom level too full? Who am I bringing back to the store.

3. BluMan1914 Well Known Member Member

To be honest, I don't believe that the Rams and Kribs are compatible, temperament or in water parameters. I also know that the Red Tail Shark may be considered not right for this tank as well, they get pretty big.
    I'm sure others with more experience with stocking will come in. Anders247, TexasDomer.

To cut down on the aggression with the Kribs, adding another female should help, also break up the line of sights, and make sure everybody has there own territory they can establish, also have plenty of hiding places. But I really suggest rehoming either the Kribs or the Rams, and only keeping the one you like most.

4. el337 Fishlore Legend Member