30g Planted Pea Puffer Tank

8kdr22

So I’m in the process of breaking down my 40 breeder reef, as the time required was just too much. In its place I want to set up a pea puffer tank. I got a great deal for a 30 gallon (36x13x16). It’s a little bigger than what I wanted, but a practically brand new 30 gal for 30 bucks was too hard to pass up. So I have limited expierence with a planted tank and none with puffers. I have been keeping mbuna cichlids for over 7 years though so we’re good on freshwater general knowledge. I want to recreate almost a natural environment for the puffers plant and scape wise. So here’s my questions:

Stocking:
8 puffers? 2m-6f
6 ember tetras?
6 Otto cats?

I have heard and read such varying opinions on puffer stocking so please let me know what you think. Even to me this seems like a lot of fish but I don’t want the 30gal to be empty.

Plants:
Going with a nicrew plant LED
Java moss
Dwarf baby tears
Amazon sword
Water wisteria
African water fern
Brazilian micro sword
Can anyone recommend CO2 systems? And are these good plants for a beginner?

Aquascape/ substrate:
Aquasoil 1 1/2inch
1/2 inch fine sand top layer

Spiderwood

any help and recommendations would be much appreciated. I’ve started too many tanks the wrong way and had to catch up to get them right, so this one I want to be easy off the bat.

BruinAquatics

Unfortunately I just can't see the pea puffers with the other inhabitants. The 6 ember tetras will most likely not survive imo and if the otos are fast enough they may. This being said, a stressed oto usually means a dead oto.