30 Gallon Community Tank

Discussion in 'Freshwater Aquarium Builds' started by Pfiz113, Apr 23, 2018.

1. Pfiz113New MemberMember

Hello,

I currently have a 10 gallon tank with a few guppies and platiea, and i just bought a 30 gallon. I am thinking of a communtco tank with guppies 7-8, platies 7-8, peppered Cory catfish 5-6, angelfish 1-2 and amano shrimp.

Maybe a honey guarami.

I read through some posts and it seems like all these fish should get along.

I am running a 30 gallon fluval filter with a sponge filter. Sand substrate. I will cycle the 30 gallon before adding the fish to it.

Any thoughts? I am fairly new to fish keeping.

Thanks,

Mike

2. FriarThomasIIIWell Known MemberMember

Angel fish like warmer temps and is best to keep them in warmer water, 78-80 degrees. Peppered corydoras like cool temps. I keep mine in 72 degree water. Platies are wonderful at most temps. Amanos would get eaten by the angelfish. HOney gourami would need warm water, like the angels. I keep;
    6 corydoras (cool temps)
    6 danios
    1 paradise fish
    and some other cooler temp fish in a planted tank.

Unless I was keeping one by himself, I wouldn't keep an angelfish in a 30 with others. Cichlids like space and territory, and also eat small tankmates. He will also get about 6-7 inches, maybe more. Is there other fish you would like to keep? I can help with other stocking if you'd like.

3. Pfiz113New MemberMember

Looking for a centerpiece fish with guppies and platies. I am open to suggestions

4. FriarThomasIIIWell Known MemberMember

Based around guppies and platies... how about a haram of dwarf gourami/honey gourami? I don't really like guppies due to temperament and size, but what if you rehomed the guppies and got endler guppies instead? They stay really small and are super peaceful. They have bright green and orange coloration and school pretty well. Platies I would keep in the 10, and centerpieces would look nice with the honey gourami haram. Thoughts?