3 Tiger Barbs, 2 "Strawberry Barbs" Small Pleco

1. Barb989 Initiate Member

So i'm new to fish keeping i just purchased a 10 gallon top fin starter kit to get me started. I'm about to buy a bigger tank since i have grown to really enjoy this hobby. I have had my tank for a little over one week and the water is a little milky i'm not sure if that's normal. anyway i have 3 tiger barbs 2 strawberry barbs and a pleco. I have a few questions

1. Is it normal to have cloudy water
    2. Are my "strawberry" Barbs Dyed
    3. How long do i have till my pleco is to big for my tank, and was it a bad decision to put him in a new tank
    4.I would like to put some live plants in my tank, i have gravel substrate, what kind of plants can i use?

thank you
    P.s I attached a picture i know the sponge bob stuff is childish but it was cheap so don't hate lol

Attached Files:

2. Akari_32 Fishlore Legend Member

Hahahaha, I'm watching Spongebob right now XD

1) The cloudy water is the ammonia-consuming bacteria trying to take hold. Have you been doing daily water changes since you set the tank up? If not, you need to look up the Nitrogen Cycle (that should actually be underlined, and you can click on it :))

2) Its hard to say. A clear, close up picture would help.

3) Its a common? If so, a few months. But the sooner you upgrade, the better. Your Barbs will appreciate it, as well :)

4) Any! Live plants are fun :)

3. pawlmawl Initiate Member

I don't know much so I won't answer any of those questions but I like your tank it looks awesome the two gravel colors meeting was a good idea.

4. nuc99705 Initiate Member

I am new to this to but for plants I use Water Wisteria, some bamboo, and Amazon Sword. I really like the Water Wisteria, and bamboo. I have a gravel substrate and they are doing well. Keep them fed with some macronutrients. Micronutrients are provided by your aquarium if you set it up right

5. Akari_32 Fishlore Legend Member