29 Gallon Tank Stocking

ginkgomw

Reaction score
Experience
4 years
Hi! I am redoing one of my 29 gallon tanks and was wondering if what I want to do would be feasible, as well as if anyone has any ideas. So far, I know I want to have one Bolivian ram and one cryptoheros nanoluteus. I figure I should just do one of each instead of pairs since they're both pretty peaceful and have similar requirements, but could be aggressive if they start breeding, plus the footprint isn't huge. I also would like to put in at least 3 (maybe up to 6, with ratios of 1 male to 2 females?) peacock gudgeons, and was wondering if that seems like a reasonable idea? Beyond that, if I could, maybe some smaller but cool "don't see that every day" schooling fish? Let me know if you have any ideas or concerns!

marmaaa

Reaction score
Experience
1 year
I am no expert but what about ember tetras they are orange, small, and could easily school in a 29g just not sure if they could be eaten because of how small?

OP
G

ginkgomw

Reaction score
Experience
4 years
marmaaa said:
I am no expert but what about ember tetras they are orange, small, and could easily school in a 29g just not sure if they could be eaten because of how small?
They are a cute fish, and definitely a good option! But yeah, I would wonder about their size with the cichlids full-grown

OP
G

ginkgomw

Reaction score
Experience
4 years
marmaaa said:
Hm. What about about a school of diamond tetras? Or any other medium-sized tetras?
Oh yeah, those would be great! Their fins remind me a lot of Congo tetras - I came across them looking around at a bunch of different tetras and barbs and love the look of them but don't have the space (the Congo tetras, I mean)

marmaaa

Reaction score
Experience
1 year
Oh those are pretty but big, again I'm no expert but I think a schooling fish that around 2in maybe the best option for the tank and not be eaten.

OP
G

ginkgomw

Reaction score
Experience
4 years
marmaaa said: