265 Gallon Aquarium

1. G

Gabe Ortiz Initiate Member

what’s up community my name is Gabe I’m new to fishlore I recently completed a 125 gallon build and looking forward to my next project. My question is I’m planning on setting up a 265 freshwater tank on both tanks I have now I run fluval FX6’s so how many should I put on a 265 gallon tank some people say do 3 canister filters two fx6’s and something smaller like a fluval 406 or an FX4, some say two FX6’s are fine. I’m planing on stocking it with Oscars from what I read they can be pretty messy fish and they need optimal water quality do to them being susceptible to “hole in the head” so I want to make sure my filtration can keep up with the waste load . Thanks for any suggestions

2. Dawn Michele

Dawn Michele Well Known Member Member

Welcome to Fishlore Gabe!!!

3. Aqua Hands

Aqua Hands Well Known Member Member

If you can afford 3 FX6's go ahead BUT, I would say 2 FX6's would be fine.

4. NavyChief20

NavyChief20 Well Known Member Member

i am guessing this is a custom built 265?

5. OP
    OP
    G

I’m buying a Marineland 265 gallon tank

6. freak78

freak78 Well Known Member Member

If your heart is set on canisters I would run two and put three aquaclear 110s across the back. Otherwise if it's a drilled Tank I would run a sump.

7. OP
    OP
    G

I was thinking about a sump but to be honest I’m still kinda new to the hobby and know nothing about sump systems but I would definitely consider a sump.

8. freak78

freak78 Well Known Member Member

A drilled Tank is more expensive. I have a 220 with an eheim 2262, Fx-5 and three aquaclear 110s. The only reason is I bought the tank used with the canisters. I added the aquaclears.
    FB_IMG_1510925668617.jpg

9. NavyChief20

Well fortunately theres several of us that use sumps exclusively here. A sump will save you alot of money in the short and long run

10. OP
    OP
    G