26 Gallon Bowfront Stocking: Input Please

bettasplendid

Hello! I am receiving a 26 gal bowfront from a family member who will be moving. The tank has sand as the substrate and 9 peppered cories but beyond that, it is free real estate. I’m mainly experienced with keeping domestic betta splendens (10 gallons each, heavily planted) so I am not that experienced with stocking & assessing compatibility. Filtration is a sponge filter & an AquaClear 50, but I’m happy to adjust and get stronger filtration if needed. Tank is heated to about 78°F. I haven’t planted the tank yet but I want to.

In an ideal world, I would like to keep the cories and add in 5 sparkling gouramis and a shoal of cherry barbs. Would that be too much & would any of those species not get along? From what I’ve seen, they should be okay but I would rather check first. If that wouldn’t work, I would appreciate stocking suggestions, though I want to keep the 9 cories so it would have to be something that works with them. I have seen some smaller cichlids (I think blue rams and similar species? a lot of these were older threads) come up as recommendations for other people but I don’t think that’s what I’m looking for & I’m leaning away from guppies after a *horrible* experience with camallanus worms but beyond that, I think I’m open to whatever people think would be good! Our water is a little on the hard side (7.5 ish) if you need that information as well.

Thank you and I am looking forward to receiving feedback!

BigManAquatics

Not sure on the numbers for sparkling gouramis, but it sounds pretty good. Filtration should be pretty good as well.

bettasplendid