24 weeks into fishless (non)cycle

munguin

I am hoping for some advice on a fishless cycle. I'm fairly new to aquariums and fish. I'm 24+ weeks into a fishless cycle on a 5-gallon tank (heated, filtered) in which I am hoping to someday keep a betta fish. Records of the cycle data and my specific actions are attached. Unfortunately, the cycle seems to be not working. Or rather, it has at brief times seemed to be working before falling apart. I am not sure what's going wrong and what I should try. For many weeks after I started, the cycle seemed to be doing nothing, and about 14 weeks in I managed to get a used filter from a neighbor's cycled tank. That seemed to kick things into gear, but ammonia was still getting down only to about 0.25 and not 0. Then, after several more weeks, the ammonia finally started to get down to zero. For about a week I thought I was all set, but then my pH inexplicably plunged down off the chart and the ammonia went back up again. After a water change the pH is now up again but the ammonia cycle seems almost back where I started 24 weeks ago. Can anybody find a pattern in the data? Is there something I'm doing wrong? I am mystified and would be grateful for any insights! Thanks.

Seasoldier

Hi, 24 weeks is a long time to get a cycle established, I can't open your zip file so can't see your data but can I ask a few questions. 1 what are you using as ammonia to feed the bacteria colony? 2 when you dose the ammonia how high do you get the ammonia reading & how long is it taking to go to zero? 3 are you getting any nitrite / nitrate readings? 4 how often are you doing partial water changes? 0.25 is not too high for ammonia but what are you testing with, strips or master test kit? If you have a combined ammonia / nitrite reading of less than 1 you're OK especially if you have nitrate reading of 5 - 10 or so. Lastly small tanks are notorious for trying to keep stable, the bigger the tank volume the easier it is.

munguin