20g Tank Build, Help! Beginner!

iDon'tCare

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Hello there! I'm an experienced freshwater hobbyist who has always been in love with saltwater, and I am now branching out to my first. I originally was going to stock my old 10 gallon and didn't expect to get a new tank for a while. Since it's a desk aquarium, I found a good deal on a 20 tall that I'm now planning to use. Any concerns with the following?

1 Firefish
1 Ocillaris Clown (Want a pair if I can get one!)
3 Hermit Crabs
2 Cleaner Shrimp
2 Nassarius Snail

I don't know.. I think I might be overstocking..

DutchAquarium

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
You might have problems with the ocellaris pair with the firefish. Even the ocellaris species can be agressive even going after snails. If your going with two clowns, you need to get rid of the fire fish. I had a tomato clown once which is more of an agressive species, but it would draw blood on your arm when you stuck your hand in the tank.

thesoulpatch

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
You'd be fine with that stocking, if you take it slow. Do the fire fish first, then after awhile add the clowns. ask @stella1979 or you can ask our resident stocking master @KinsKicks she's helped several of us with stocking issues.

stella1979

Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
I agree that you might be fine with that stocking if you take things slow and easy. Start with the clean up crew, CUC, and then add the firefish. Firefish are timid, so it's best that you give it a month at least to get nice and comfy before adding other fish. When it's time for the clowns, you will have better luck if you get a couple of juvies from an established group. Clowns don't always get along with each other, but chances are much better if they have already been together, and are introduced together to your tank while they are still quite young.