20 High Centerpiece And Schooling Fish 20 Gallon Tank 

ahouseofscales

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Hi! I am looking for some stocking ideas for a 20 high planted tank. It is just started and on the tail end of cycling, so it's not very mature, but I won't be stocking it for a while. Right now I'm just looking for ideas since I've never had a 20 before and I'm not sure what I want. I do know I would like 1 or 2 larger centerpiece fish and a school if possible. I am a college student so I need fish that are relatively hardy in the case that someone else has to care for them or I miss a water change (which I will try not to do).

Tank params:
Ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate will all be 0.0 once it's done cycling.
pH is 7.5 out of tap, 6.5 once it's gassed off.

The tank will be heavily planted with rockwork and possibly driftwood. I am also considering throwing some botanicals in.

I have experience with anabantids mostly but I'm open to branching out.

Fish I like:
Bettas (I stopped buying them a while ago because of them marble gene but if I can find a better source I'm open to it)
Dwarf Gouramis (also wary of them because of DGD but I enjoy having them)
Guppies and other livebearers
Rummy Nose Tetras
Julii Cories
Angelfish (I know the care sheet on here says 20 is the minimum but I've heard otherwise. Opinions?)
Any Invertebrate (seriously, any)

Fish I don't like:
Honey Gouramis (I like the fish itself, I just would prefer 1 or 2 larger fish)
BN Plecos

I am open to any suggestions and they don't have to be fish on this list. I'm just looking for ideas right now! Thanks!

Algonquin

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
I think Rummynose need more swimming space than a 20H offers. What about a few male guppies and a nice group of ember tetras? You can get some pretty awesome guppies these days, a trio of different colours/types would serve as your centrepiece! And maybe some shrimp for the bottom, once the tank is established.