20 gallon tank setup

1. w

werwer2016 Valued Member Member

Being a newbie, I need some help setting up my 20 gallon tank I just bought the other day. I got water in it, decorations and prime. Now should I go for artificial plants or real plants. I have three 4 month old mollies, an adult mollie plus four cora catfish so I'm hoping I finally have enough room for them.

2. FreshAquariums

FreshAquariums Valued Member Member

I would say real plants because they take in CO2 in the tank and give of oxygen therefor helping aerate the water helping the fish breath. and they just look prettier then plastic that doesn't move, plants sway kind of lol

3. el337

el337 Fishlore Legend Member

Unfortunately, a 20g is still too small for 4 mollies. Would you be able to exchange it for at least a 29g?

4. OP
    OP
    w

After I put in all my decorations and add water to the tank how long should I wait before I put in any fish. This is a 20 gallon tank. Also should I add any chemicals when I first setup a tank.

5. el337

Did you rehome all the fish you had? If so, are you planning on a fishless cycle?

6. OP
    OP
    w

I rehomed all my fish but not sure how long I need to wait after putting water in the tank to get fish. Also do I add any chemicals after I put the water in.

7. el337

So you want to do a cycle with fish? From your profile, I see you don't know about the nitrogen cycle so that would be the absolute first thing you'll want to learn about since understanding that would help you to care for your fish.

I also see you have a pH and ammonia test. Are they liquid tests? You'll also need tests to check for nitrite and nitrate. You'll need a water conditioner and a bacteria supplement. I'd recommend getting Seachem Prime as a water conditioner and either Tetra SafeStart Plus or Seachem Stability as a bacteria supplement.

Have you also thought about what fish you wanted to stock with?

8. OP
    OP
    w