20 gallon tank ideas

The fish master 123456

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
im just starting out and thinking of fish for my 20 gallon aquarium
i was also thinking of getting live plants, any ideas on which ones are good to get and easy to take care of

nitrite-0
nitrate-10
amonia-0
ph-7.4
temp-80
hardness- inbetween hard and soft

Lucy

Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Your aquarium information says the tank was started in 2009 and has fish in it.
Is this a different tank?

lil0618

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
3 years
um try longfin zebra danios they are cool and very hardy also try sarpea tetras

i have the same kind of tank here are some pics for ideas

lea

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
4 years
Anubis, ludwigia and crypts are easy plants to care for and not too picky on conditions and ok in low light (i use ludwigia, crypts and amazon sword all in my tank). As I'm a relative newbie also, and don't want to mess with a fully planted tank, i keep my plants in little terracotta pots with some filter wool carefully wrapped around the roots to anchor too (the crypts and amazon sword i bought came this way) and a few pebbles on top to hold it in. So far they are thriving - and i can re-arrange my tank plants when i want a differnt look by moving the pots around!

I love bettas and they are a good size for your tank, but the danios etc have the reputation for being among the hardiest and entertaining fish when kept in a small school and probably a great idea while learning, plus you an add other fish and they should get along fine, though i hear they can be nippy sometimes. White clouds also have a reputation for being very hardy but lack the nippy factor, and for this reason i keep them and have found them beautiful and very personable little fish (who also are kind to my betta).