20 Gallon re-stocking

Discussion in 'Aquarium Stocking Questions' started by Jaq, Dec 23, 2012.

1. Jaq

Jaq Valued Member Member

Hello! I'm kinda new to FishLore, and this is my first post. My question is, how will the following fish do in an well established, 20 gallon tall planted aquarium?
    (Aquarium is fully cycled and ready for stocking, with no other fish)

- Cardinal Tetras (5-7)

- Cory's, otos, or snails.

- 1 Dwarf Gourami

- Semi-schooling top dwellers such as rasboras, platy's, or guppies.

I have done some research and I think this could work. But, I would also like to hear some tips or ideas from you guys. Thanks :)

2. oysterstu

oysterstu New Member Member

With the plant buffer...proper care and proper feeding you should be able to make it work.. in theory of course. The concern being the minimum amount of fish needed per school. Corys love friends..but it may overcrowd your tank quickly with the other schooling fish. I've seen them in tanks alone...but am not 100% sure if that is the best option or not.

The fish you have listed i see most often as what most would use as their beginner fish. The other ones being zebra Danio's, white clouds, regular neon tetra and glow light tetra...or goldfish.

The dwarf Gourami can sometimes be pretty sensitive...and or aggressive. I'd recommend to start slow..and do 3 fish at a time till you are comfortable. Get bottom feeders or algae eaters once you've seen algae growth (if the plants "allow it") and or your comfortable.

Practice proper feeding and water changes. With it being a planted tank, you will find it may be easier for you to maintain optimum water quality. Its great for the fish to use as hiding spots.

Snails..shrimps..and frogs are always fun additions to any tank. One more thing to look for/at. We feed our Ghost Shrimp red and green flakes now....they look like Christmas shrimps now lol.