20 Gallon Neon Tetra Stocking Ideas

Discussion in 'Aquarium Stocking Questions' started by GenerationTech, Apr 13, 2019.

1. GenerationTechNew MemberMember

Hi everyone! I’ve been doing tons of research lately because I have never been a serious fish keeper before. I know quite a lot about the ammonia cycle and filters as well as heaters. I’ve decided to start a 20 gallon tank soon. I’m still relatively new to tank maintaining a tank so I will probably use artificial plants so I do not have to add external carbon dioxide. I’ve looked at some stocking ideas and have decided that I definitely want neon tetras in my tank. I also want to add some other fish but I don’t really know of any good tank mates. Many sites have said to use the rule of thumb, but I don’t really trust it as each fish has their own needs in terms of space. Any ideas including colorful and peaceful fish are welcome!
    Thanks!

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 15, 2019
  2. Otocinclus13Valued MemberMember

Welcome to the fish world! Nice job on research. It sounds like you've been very thorough.

If your mind is set on a 20 gallon tank, my suggestion would be to get a 20 long (as opposed to a 20 tall... actual dimensions can be found online). It has a lot more horizontal swimming space and gives you a wider range of fish options to choose from. I would honestly recommend going with a 30 gallon though. Larger tanks are generally more stable in terms of safe water parameters, and don't take much more maintenance. There is an increase in start-up cost though, but on the other hand, the species that are available to you open up a lot more, and with more space you can get bigger schools of fish and watch more natural behaviors! There's nothing wrong with a 20gal tank, I'm just throwing in my two cents.