20 Gallon Long Stocking 20 Gallon Tank

Discussion in 'Aquarium Stocking Questions' started by Dinotso, Apr 23, 2018.

1. DinotsoNew MemberMember

Hi all! Try to put together my first community tank with a 20 gallon long I picked up on sale. My previous fishkeeping experience as an adult is just a single betta in a 5g tank, so stocking is definitely an area I have no experience in.

While I get my tank set up and wait for it to cycle I've been trying to plan ahead for my stocking. I've been reading up on fish that are fairly hardy and using aqadvisor for planning, but wanted to post my plan and get people's thoughts (especially since I have no sense of what fish are truly compatible).

My plan is
    2x Bolivian Rams
    6x Guppy
    2x Nerite Snail
    1x Bristlenose Pleco
    1x Dwarf Gourami OR 6x Leopard Danio (no preference)

According to aqadvisor these fish should be compatible and would put me at ~100% stock level and would be fine from a filtration standpoint (Aqueon Quietflow 50, most likely).

What do people think?

2. TexasDomerFishlore LegendMember

Welcome to Fishlore!

Aqadvisor isn't that accurate, so I wouldn't trust it completely.

I'd leave out the BN pleco - they get up to 6" long and they're quite messy. A bigger tank, like a 29 gal, would be more suitable for them.

I'd keep only male guppies - females will breed and overrun you with fry (no, not all of the fry will be eaten).

3. DinotsoNew MemberMember

Thanks for the advice! I will definitely leave out the BN pleco -- was a little hesitant on it anyways because it seems like they need driftwood which can be tricky to deal with.

Definitely male guppies only, don't need any baby drama.

4. JLeeMWell Known MemberMember