20 gallon fish tank questions

Discussion in 'Aquarium Stocking Questions' started by akle4, Jun 24, 2016.

1. a

akle4 Valued Member Member

Last year I won a carnival fish( I think it is a comet goldfish) named Ed. I have finally begged my dad to bring home a 20 gallon long tank. I am going to move Ed in to it, and I want to add another comet. I only have access to fish from the carnival, and from petco, so keep that in mind. What do I need for my 20 gallon, that petco would probably have. I was wondering what other fish I could add to the tank. Maybe like a snail or something? I want to be very careful about not overstocking.
    I have pre bought one of the cleaning tube things, but I barley know how to use it, and I am afraid to suck my fish into it. I know that I need to take out 1/2 of the water. Can I put in tap water, or do I need to let it sit?
    I also need to know what I need to buy for my tank. So what kind of filters, and stuff.
    I am new to this, so thank you for your time:)

2. codyrex97

codyrex97 Well Known Member Member

I would not add any fish until some of our forum's experts chime in about things. It will eventually outgrow the 20 gallon. That said, it will likely live in the 20 gallon a good deal of time before needing an upgrade. I'm not familiar on how fast goldfish grow but I've heard of people upgrading tanks throughout the life of the goldfish. That 20 gallon is so much better than most goldfish get! The reason goldfish need a good deal of space is because of what poopers they are. They pollute the water faster than other fish their size. I believe goldfish eat snails but I'm not sure.

You're going to need an API Freshwater Master Test Kit, Seachem Prime water conditioner, and good quality goldfish pellets.

As far as equipment like filters and stuff, somebody else will have to fill you in.