Question 20 gallon centerpiece/oddball stocking ideas?

Dmandino9991

Reaction score
I am a beginner trying to get my first tank set up and have recently decided to get a 20 gallon tank rather than a 29 gallon. I was thinking to stock it with 6-8 panda cory catfish, 6-12 neon tetras and... I do not know any good centerpiece/oddball fish to put in with them. I do not know whether having a centerpiece and oddball would overstock the tank but if not that would be preferred. Thanks!

Butterfly fish? Dwarf Gourami perhaps?

Best Answer - View jkkgron2's answer

SnookusFish

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Gbrs arent temp compatible with neons but apistos could work if you give them caves. I think aquarium co-op made a video on top 10 centerpiece fish for a 20 gallon

DollyDolly

Reaction score
Experience
1 year
SnookusFish said:
Gbrs arent temp compatible with neons but apistos could work if you give them caves. I think aquarium co-op made a video on top 10 centerpiece fish for a 20 gallon
I keep my neons and Gbrs in 80 and they do great together. Dont see why neons wouldnt work

faydout

Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Dmandino9991 said:
I am a beginner
Rams and Apistos, eh? Rams and Apistos are in no way beginner fish. This is setting this new fishkeeper up to fail imo. Acouple of Honey Gourami would be nice (as long as you know how to tell the difference between Honey's and thick lipped).

OP
Dmandino9991

Dmandino9991

Reaction score
faydout said:
Rams and Apistos, eh? Rams and Apistos are in no way beginner fish. This is setting this new fishkeeper up to fail imo. A couple of Honey Gourami would be nice (as long as you know how to tell the difference between Honey's and thick lipped).
It probably does not help that I didn't know what an Apistogramma was before I saw this message. Perhaps a few Honey Gourami and a Butterfly Fish a the top?