20 Gallon Tank 20 Gal Stocking W/ Dwarf Gourami

ahouseofscales

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Hi! I finally have a 20 gallon tank and I am very excited to start stocking it! I have a few ideas and preferences but I'd like to see what ideas other people might have. I have a dwarf gourami and nerites back home that I will be bringing to put in this tank (I am a college student). I would like to have a schooling fish and some sort of invertebrate. I really like pearl danios and rummynose tetras, and I am looking at getting a crab (either a thai micro crab or a freshwater pom pom crab). I am not sure what goes best with DGs though so I am open to ideas.

Tango has pretty much been on his own the entire time I've had him. I have only ever had snails, shrimp, and dwarf crays with him so I'm not sure how he'll react to other fish. Since I am in college I don't want a species that is too demanding. The tank will be planted with caribsea eco-complete for a substrate. It will be heated to around 77F. pH from the tap is around 7.2 and of course ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate will all be 0 once I have it fully cycled.

I appreciate any ideas you can give me! Thanks!

Last edited:

bendresbach

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Is it a tall or long 20 gallon?
I think Harlequin Rasbora would be a good tank mate for the DG. They like similar water parameters and temps. Pearl Danio like colder water.
For a bottom feeder you can’t go wrong with a bristle nose
I’d reccomend not choosing a longfin because of the tank size but super red,calico,regular,albino, and lemon eyes will work great

ahouseofscales

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Is it a tall or long 20 gallon?
I think Harlequin Rasbora would be a good tank mate for the DG. They like similar water parameters and temps. Pearl Danio like colder water.
It is a 20 tall. I know it's not ideal but it's what I can fit.