Help 20 gal Aquarium questions!

image_image

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
So, I'm super mathematically challenged. I'm a beginner at fish keeping. I have 2 balloon mollies in a much too small tank. As soon as I move out of my apt. that doesn't allow so much as a fish bowl, I plan to get a 20 gal. tank. My mom is convinced a 20gal. is as big as a bathtub. I'm not so much...

I found a Top fin glass 20 gal tank for $59.99. The dimensions are 24 1/4"L x 12 1/2"W x 16 3/4"H, which my mom is now convinced won't hold 20 gallons.

Q. 1 - Will this tank hold 20 gallons as advertised?
Q. 2 - Is Top Fin a reliable brand? I'm super worried about leaks and the like.
Q. 3 - (A dumb question at that) Aquarium stands on carpets less stable than an uncarpeted floor?

Meenu

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
There's a calculator at the bottom of the page. You can enter the dimensions in, and it tells you how many gallons. Remember that substrate and decor will subtract from the number of gallons.

Most brands are fine. Lots of people here have top fin.

Q3 - I don't know. Sorry.

ryanr

Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
re: Q3 - it's not so much whether it's carpet, but what is under the carpet.

Considering the average human weighs approx 80kg, and a 20G tank will hold nearly 80kg's of water, plus tank, substrate, it'll probably weigh about 100kg. [1litre of water = 1kg]

So as long as your floor isn't caving in now, you should be right to add a 20g tank on top of it

Many bookcases, tv cabinets etc weigh more than most fish tanks.

Your tank will remain stable on either surface, as long as you do your best to make it level. If the feet of the stand are firmly planted, then the aquarium above will be fine.