2 Week Cycle, Ammonia Went From 8ppm To 4 But Still No Nitrites And Nitrates

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by Confused_Penguin, Apr 19, 2018.

1. Confused_PenguinNew MemberMember

This is my first time using forum but I really need help. I want to make sure I'm doing everything right. I know patience is important but I want to make sure I'm doing everything I can to help the tank cycle.

I've always wanted to have a nano tank with live plants so I purchased a 2.5 gallon Fluval Spec Tank. Here is my equipment set up:

- 100 watt heater that keeps the temperature at 80 degrees
    - Amazonia soil for substrate
    - Small Driftwood with a rock I bought from petsco to help weigh it down
    - Lights and filter that came with the Fluval Spec
    - Plants: java fern, swords, four leaf clover (carpet plant?), and peacock moss

I used dechlorinator, quick start, 1 drop of ammonia to raise it to 8ppm (since amazonia actually provided most of the ammonia in the tank)

Day 1
    Ammonia: 8ppm
    Nitrite: 0
    Nitrate: 0
    PH: 7

Lights are on 8 hours a day

Day 14
    Ammonia: 4ppm
    Nitrite: 0
    Nitrate:0
    PH: 6.2

I've been checking the tank daily and noticed that the ph dropped to 6.4. I read somewhere that if the water is acidic ammonia would turn into ammonium instead and I wont get an accurate reading so I added PH UP to try to maintain a ph of 7. But everytime I checked at the end of the day after work it always dropped down to 6.2 - 6.4. I don't know if I should continue to add drops to it to try to stabilize PH.