2 red eye tetras

alrightkay-

Reaction score
Experience
1 year
I just got my 10 gallon tank and cycled it for a week adding water conditioner and nitrifying bacteria. I have 3 plants and 2 red eye tetras, I'm COMPLETELY new to having an aquarium and have a couple questions help me out if you can!
Today I put in my 2 tetras in my empty tank and at first it seemed like they were nipping each others fins and now one of them is hiding behind my filter.. What should I do? Will they last more than 2 days until I can get more tetras?

Also should I be doing anything for my plants? I've bought the type of gravel for plants to grow in but that's it and I can't tell if they're dying. It might just be me but the leaves almost look dry?

Please help me if you can! x

Kunsthure

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Welcome to Fish Lore!

You said you cycled the tank for a week. What did you do? What was the source of the nitrifying bacteria you mentioned? Have you tested your water parameters?

There are a couple of reasons your fish could be having problems. One is just the stress of a new home. Tetras really need to be in large groups, so being with only one other will stress them out as well. Your water parameters may be off, so we need to know your readings to assess that.

What kinds of plants do you have? Once we know what they are we can troubleshoot better.

-Lisa

alrightkay-

Reaction score
Experience
1 year
The bacteria is called "Nite-Out" its formulated for rapid ammonia and nitrie reduction. I basically just set up my aquarium (heater, filter, ect) with the gravel, plants, water conditioner and the Nite Out. I left it like that for a week, never turning off the filter and turning the lights on and off every 12 hours for my plants just to get things going. I haven't had the time to get my water tested but if my fish can wait I'll be able to go in a day or 2. While I'm getting my water tested should I buy any other needed products for this tank?