2 Koi and a fantail goldfish in a 20 gallon tank?

CarpQueen
Hello!

I just recently joined, and I am not a fish pro.

I have a 20 gallon fish tank currently occupied with a single tiny fantail goldfish. I am about to be moving soon, so I was thinking of rearranging the inside of the tank and making it mostly "asian" themed with bamboo decor and all. Afterwards I would then go out and purchase two koi to go in the tank along with my cute little goldfish, Jackie Chan.

I have read it is fine to put koi and goldfish in the same tank together, however, I question if this tank too small? Also, after buying all new products would it be best to allow the tank to mature before buying the fish or returning Jackie Chan to it? And for how long?

What other type of fresh water critters could I fit in there that would benefit the tank?

Thank you for your help

guppy07
I hate to give the bad news but the koi will not fit in a tank that small. Koi grow to be very large and need plenty of space to swim around. Most koi are placed in small ponds in a back yard or very large indoor aquariums. You can read more at
https://www.fishlore.com/profiles-koi.htm

As far as you fan tail I don't know how big he/she is supposed to get but the general rule is one inch of fully grown fish per gallon of water. So if you fan tail is going to get to be 8 inches you can put maybe two more goldfish in with him but need to check compatibility with other goldfish species.

You can not mix tropical fish and goldfish because of the temp requirements. Tropical need much warmer water and will not be able to handle the cooler temps that the goldfish need. But never fear there are plenty of goldfish species to choose from just reasearch and choose wisely

0morrokh
Koi grow huge. Goldfish grow big too, but they produce so much more waste the inch per gal rule doesn't really apply. You shouldn't keep more than one goldfish in a 20gal.

Do you know about the nitrogen cycle?

guppy07
0morrokh,