[2.5 gal tank] small but what kind of equip. do i Really Need?

cowizzle

Reaction score

hey all  ;D
i got a 2.5 gal tank for christmas and it's been cycling for about a week now. the water got a bit murky/cloudy after day three and i read that it means the cycle
s been complete? since it's a small tank, i figured that was about right. i gave it a couple more days and then got some molly fish. i think it's kinda crowded because i have 5 of them in there. they seem to be doing fine though...

as far as equipment goes, my tank came with a filter and a water prep solution. i also got a thermometer. i wanted an air pump but i thought it wasnt necessary since it's a small tank. the problem i have is keeping the water temperature stable at night because it goes down a bit. should i get a water heater?

*im planning on gettin at least a 20 gal tank to move them in.. and just use the small one for the fry. im still new at this so opinions would be helpful. thanks guys!

atmmachine816

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Yes you would want a heater for the tank, marineland stealth fully submergilble I think is the type chickadee uses and has small tanks and it keeps it stable. Check with her to make sure. Yes it's crowded and you will want that 20 gallon asap, have you tested your water parameters yet? Using the small one is a good idea for the fry. Just wondering is it the 2.5 gallon mini-bow type? Hope you enjoy this new hobby.

atmmachine816

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
I was right, check here

cowizzle

Reaction score

hey thanks! im not so sure i can get that 20 gal tank right away but i will try. i'll also check out the site for that heater you recommended so i can get it asap. and to be honest, i havent even checked the water parameters. i barely read the nitrogen cycle when i had filled the tank with water. havent even gotten a test kit yet. which would you recommend?