16 Gallon Progress

PepperidgeFarms

Valued Member
Reaction score
Hey all, I'm new to fishlore and used to be pretty into aquariums about 10 years ago but haven't for a number of years. I now own just a betta and am interested in getting back into it a bit. I would love to venture into the planted/aquascaping territory eventually which is something I've never done but just want to re-learn everything so I can do it properly.
I'm currently in a stupid situation where my betta is in a 2 gallon bowl-type thing which I know isn't good so I've just purchased a 16 gallon tank and would love to make it a community tank
... Obviously bettas can be tempermental, is there any way to test in the first place if he will do ok with others without actually having to risk injuries or the lives of other fish or himself? Also since he's just one fish I'm assuming I'm better off doing a fishless cycle and just changing his partially every day until it's ready or else it will take forever... does that seem reasonable?
What kind of substrate do I want to use so I can eventually grow plants? I unfortunately don't have any friends with aquariums to help me jumpstart the cycle by lending me some of their things from established tanks so I'll just have to go the ammonia way I guess... Any stocking suggests or advice? When I first got into fish it was due to me being an idiot and getting a fish without research and learning what they need so I've never done a fishless cycle and it makes me nervous since it's totally new... agh I'm just so nervous! I don't want to screw this up and accidentally kill any fish

kayla20johnson

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
PepperidgeFarms said: