135 Stocking

1. kjlife

kjlife Member Member

So again Mts has set in got a super deal on a used 135 6 foot tank I do have to make a stand and plumb everything but I'm planning stocking would like some input going for a ca/sa cichlid stock
    So 2 acara probably eba
    1 severum the red one forget name maybe 2 worried that they get to big
    A couple geophagus not sure on howmany and what type
    And maybe some tiger barbs for dither fish
    Also maybe a catfish or 2 not sure what type Raphael or pictus I think they where
    Would love any input thanks guys

2. vikingkirken

vikingkirken Well Known Member Member

I'm not an expert on stocking numbers, but I do know geophagus need to be in groups. So if you definitely want those, plan for at least 4, more is better.

3. OP
    OP
    kjlife

kjlife Member Member

Yea geo's and acaras are 2 that I like a lot my lfs had some cool thread finacara look really nice don't know anything about then also enjoy ebas alot

4. sweendog87

sweendog87 Member Member

This is quickly starting to become a very popular community this is my list
    2 Electric blue acaras
    5 geophagus redhead tapajos
    1 red spotted severum
    4 German blue rams or Threadfin acara
    3-6 clown loaches
    12 cherry barbs
    12 lemon tetras
    This was also inspired by 3 other similar threads on 125gal stock lists I'm planning on getting a 180 gal hopefully and have a sump and 2 filters on it

5. OP
    OP
    kjlife

kjlife Member Member

I plan to run a sump just because the tank is predrilled so from this list I assume thread fin stay small like rams ??

6. vikingkirken

vikingkirken Well Known Member Member

Not sure I would do 4 threadfin acara. I'd suggest a single one, since you're already looking at a group of geos. Threadfins can be nasty to each other...

7. sweendog87

sweendog87 Member Member